Advice on breathing please

Welcome! Ask your questions and chat about swimming, technique, swimming training or Mr Smooth.
lp1958

Advice on breathing please

Postby lp1958 » Tue Oct 23, 2012 8:06 am

Hi,

I'm an ex cyclist and I've been swimming properly for two months now. Thanks to Swim Smooth my progress has been amazing. I honestly can not thank you enough.

I believe my swimming style firmly lies with the Arnie camp.
As a beginner I pretty much have a blank canvas so I'm trying to do as much as I can correctly.

I'm doing my best to keep my legs up. I'm getting there.
I do have a tendency to slightly lift and over rotate my head when breathing to the right hand side (I'm right handed) but I'm doing my best to correct this.

I'm breathing bi-laterally every 3rd stroke and I can now swim indefinitely at a variety of stroke rates. This is a major break through for me.

What I do do is breath in short bursts, once per stroke. I find this both comfortable and maintainable. I am well aware that this wrong and is not helping balance my legs or stroke.
I've tried and tried to breath continously through my mouse and or nose and after a few strokes my breathing gets really laboured. This happens whether my stroke rate is quick or slow.

Has anyone any suggestions as to what I may be doing wrong.

Thanks for your time.
Dave

gavinp

Re: Advice on breathing please

Postby gavinp » Tue Oct 23, 2012 11:50 am

Hi Dave

It sounds like your on the right path :)

Do you exhale as soon as your head is in the water?

I would say that, as you are still in the process of learning bilateral breathing it will feel awkward and laboured still. It does take time to learn new things - especially if you have been swimming with a breath every stroke over a number of years. It's a very different process.