Blind leading the blind ? Novice teaching learner ...

Welcome! Ask your questions and chat about swimming, technique, swimming training or Mr Smooth.
ydrol

Blind leading the blind ? Novice teaching learner ...

Postby ydrol » Tue Apr 19, 2016 2:50 pm

Hi I'm a novice swimmer (can do 18 lengths front crawl slowly - had 6 lessons, watched videos, Mr smooth app, TI, Sun Yang etc).
I'm now teaching my young adult daughter to swim - she's about 5'7" 9st, slim build. - as she wants to be confident in the water on holiday.
Appreciate it could be a case of the blind(me without skill) leading the blind(new swimmer), so I'm very mindful of that, but

After 2 sessions she can now swim on her back. mushroom float, straighten out to initial balance position, and take a few strokes,
- keeping her body straight,
- core engaged
- gentle kicking from hips,
- toes pointed etc.
- looking at 45 degrees
- at least one arm outstreatched ahead at any time.

The next step I thought was rotating to breath, (eg https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rUzsrfvjCMg ) however her head becomes submerged after a few strokes and more so when she turns to breath.
It doesn't look like she is lifting her head. Her whole body sinks fairly quickly as she exhales (legs first)
I think we should postpone breathing and get back to 'balance' with a gentle exhale and taking 4/5 strokes and resting. I think if she exhales to quickly her bouyancy drops away rapidly.

Maybe we need to spend more time on balance and forget breathing right now? Skate position?

Appreciate its hard without a video but any other pointers/ tips on keeping her near the surface.
I think I have to check she is not trying to push down with her hand to get her head up when breathing?
Anything I should specifically look for during our next session?
Or should she take the plunge and get proper lessons from someone qualified !

Don Wright

Re: Blind leading the blind ? Novice teaching learner ...

Postby Don Wright » Wed Apr 20, 2016 7:57 am