Suggestions for drills/focus

Welcome! Ask your questions and chat about swimming, technique, swimming training or Mr Smooth.
dmc12504

Suggestions for drills/focus

Postby dmc12504 » Tue Sep 06, 2016 7:32 pm

I've been swimming for about 2 years now, and recently was joined in the sport by my 13-yo daughter. I swim about 1:45/100yd at tempo (1:30 for 100 sprint). My daughter is about half that speed and has many accompanying form challenges! I am her "coach", so the blind are really leading the blind here!

I am hoping some of you could spare a couple minutes to see our efforts in the pool and offer a tip or two. I (and she) would be much obliged!

Thanks!

My daughter: https://youtu.be/XgbckukhQ1k

Me: https://youtu.be/PXrYwAW-YKw

dmc12504

Re: Suggestions for drills/focus

Postby dmc12504 » Mon Sep 12, 2016 4:59 am

bump

cottmiler

Postby cottmiler » Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:28 am

To my mind these are the best:

1) swimming with an ankle band

2) Unco

3) water polo stroke

After those three then you can do them in combinations.
cottmiler is also on swim.palstani.com

The Dodo

Postby The Dodo » Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:32 am

Hi Dan!

Both clips show the typical fault that occurs as some FS-ers roll to inhale - they forget about what the legs are doing and the legs splay out quite wide (well not as wide as breast-strokers, but it's not good). The wide gap between the legs acts a bit like dragging a parachute behind you. You could both improve things IMO by imagining you have an ankle band around the ankles and flutter kick within tighter limits - particularly think about that when rolling to inhale.