Correction drill time vs.regular swimming time

Ask questions about Swim Types and chat to other swimmers of the same type!
jenniferLH

Correction drill time vs.regular swimming time

Postby jenniferLH » Thu Feb 27, 2014 5:19 pm

Hello all, I had video analysis done today. Oh dear. There is A LOT to fix, more than anticipated, some of which we started on today. Unfortunately I can't go back for another lesson for 4 weeks (distance, cost). In the meantime, I am curious about how other swimmers split their training time/focus between correction drill time and regular swimming time. I swim for fun and fitness, with the personal goal of getting better and perhaps entering the odd pool meet. I do not want to place all my swim time focus on drills and leave out the sprint/endurance parts, yet I'm afraid that any swimming I do other than drills will be re-enforcing bad habits. I was classified as "bambino on the way to swinger". I am not a beginner swimmer - I swam as a kid, left it, returned as an adult and have been "self-training", thus picking up many naughty habits. Thank goodness for Swim Smooth!!!! I'd really appreciate hearing from others on how they divide up their swim time/focus.
Thanks! Jennifer

SolarEnergy

Re: Correction drill time vs.regular swimming time

Postby SolarEnergy » Thu Feb 27, 2014 11:22 pm

Hi Jennifer, thanks for your testimony, it is very inspiring.

Seeing ourselves for the first time often is a bit of a chock. It's normal.