Coaching Question..Suggestions Triathlete Swimming Faster

Ask questions about Swim Types and chat to other swimmers of the same type!
KirstenR

Coaching Question..Suggestions Triathlete Swimming Faster

Postby KirstenR » Mon Mar 21, 2016 3:07 pm

Hi,

I am a coach working primarily with triathletes. I, myself, am a successful Swinger with a 2-beat kick and am partial to this style for open water swimming.

This woman is training for a half iron man this summer. She is very consistent but I haven't been wildly successful in getting her to bust out of her methodical plodding stroke rate. She has improved quite a bit...hopefully you can see that in this rough side by side comparison:

I am trying to get her to swing more, snap her hips more, and generally put more tempo into her stroke. I can stand over her and time her...she doesn't seem to be able to go faster but her heart rate for 10 seconds stays at 16-20 generally (it went to 22 once). I work with her to feel the water, work on her catch, accelerate through the pull more. We mix up speeds. We do drills and use paddles.

This is a frustrating case. Any suggestions?

Thank you!

Kirsten
Last edited by KirstenR on Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nofins

Re: Coaching Question..Suggestions Triathlete Swimming Faster

Postby nofins » Mon Mar 21, 2016 6:24 pm

Hi Kirsten,
You'd probably be better posting this on the Coaches Forum rather than getting non coaches advice.
Nofins

KirstenR

Postby KirstenR » Mon Mar 21, 2016 6:51 pm

Thank for the reply. I wanted to post on Coaches Forum but it says I don't have access. When I go to sign up for access it says I already have access (I vaguely remember signing up for this a while back).

Frustrated!

gavinp

Postby gavinp » Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:43 pm

HI